Don’t Try

Okay, so I’m not technically a mama just yet. I have about six weeks left, and that’s very exciting! Now, since James and I have only six weeks left before we become parents, we decided to take a child birthing class so that we can trick ourselves into feeling prepared for anything. Our first class was this past Sunday, the 10th.

I, honestly, was really dreading this class. I knew that James and I would probably be one of the youngest couples there, which just made me really nervous, and I don’t really do too terribly well trapped in a room with a bunch of people I don’t know…especially when it turns out that we all are going to watch a stranger give birth on video. The class is also five hours long… So, I was nervous, but it wasn’t really as bad as I thought it would be.

James and I got to the class, with our two pillows, and took two seats in the furthest back row. I just knew that we would have to do some kind of stupid introductions, and that’s exactly how we started class. The way introductions worked was that we mothers-to-be would state our name, and our favorite and least favorite things about being pregnant, and the fathers-to-be would also state their name, the name of the OB/GYN, and the due date (pop quiz style!). Then we’d have the chance to ask any nagging questions before getting started with class.

The first couple did their bit, and the dad-to-be did have a question:

“Yeah, is this class really five hours long?”

You could just tell that he was trying really hard to establish his role as a class clown. He, and another gentleman were constantly trying really hard to be funny. It’s annoying, and it always fell flat and the complete opposite of funny.

That brings me to the classic Improv (and really, kind of, life) notion of “Don’t try to be funny, because you will fail.” It’s true! It really is true!

I mean, this doesn’t particularly pertain to our parenting or our daughter, but it was just an observation.

But, if you think about it, it could pertain to kids, too…believe it or not, there is a moment in a kid’s life where someone laughs at something you did when you were five, and you think that bit is still funny when you’re eight…so you do it over and over again. You try desperately to be funny in front of your friends, and your parents’ friends…and it gets a little annoying (you learn this more as you get older). I would never tell our daughter “Just stop. Just…no, it’s not funny, so stop trying!” or anything.

Let me just get that out of the way; I would never try to squash my daughter’s comedic exploration. It’s just another observation. I know that there were/are PLENTY of times when I’ve actively and consciously tried to be funny for people, and it doesn’t happen. It always falls flat.

So, just be real and let the funny come naturally, because more often than not, the funny will happen on its own.

Leave a comment